You are living the life you have chosen to live

The following story comes from Michael Hyatt, who attributes it to Stacey Foster, who probably attributes it to someone else…

High in the Himalayan mountains lived a wise old man.

Periodically, he ventured down into the local village to entertain the villagers with his special knowledge and talents. One of his skills was to psychically tell the villagers the contents in their pockets, boxes, or minds.

A few young boys from the village decided to play a joke on the wise old man and discredit his special abilities.

One boy came up with the idea to capture a bird and hide it in his hands. He knew of course, the wise old man would know the object in his hands was a bird.

The boy devised a plan.

Knowing the wise old man would correctly state the object in his hands was a bird, the boy would ask the old man if the bird was dead or alive. If the wise man said the bird was alive, the boy would crush the bird in his hands, so that when he opened his hands the bird would be dead.

But, If the wise man said the bird was dead, the boy would open his hands and let the bird fly free. So not matter what the old man said, the boy would prove the old man a fraud.

The following week, the wise old man came down from the mountain into the village. The boy quickly caught a bird and cupping it out of sight in his hands, walked up to the wise old man and asked, “Old man, old man, what is it that I have in my hands?”

The wise old man said, “You have a bird, my son.” And he was right.

The boy then asked, “Old man, old man, tell me: Is the bird alive or is it dead?”

The wise old man looked at the boy, thought for a moment and said, “The bird is as you choose it to be.”

There you go. Life is, right now, as you choose it to be. Have you thought about it like that?

With the unlimited power of God available to you- and the fact that He is for you (not against you)- you are living the version of your life that you have chosen to live.

Consider:

  • You are as close to your children as you want to be.
  • You are as addicted to ________________ as you choose to be.
  • You in as good of shape physically as you desire.

The bird is in your hand. You are living the life you have chosen to live, thus far- and you will continue living the life you choose to live from here on out. Most of us think that a new book study will change things. Or that  a class will do it. Or another educational degree. Sure, those things can be tools to help- but they can also be complete wastes of time, depending on your true calling.

At the end of the day, you are already living the life you have chosen to live. And if you don’t like where those series of decisions are leading, change them. Incrementally. One decision at a time. Because small changes over the long haul add up to be big changes.

Question: What do you think?

142 Comments

Filed under Life plan, Transformation

142 responses to “You are living the life you have chosen to live

  1. Pingback: Life as you take it: Choosing wisely | Grippd

  2. Brian Van Valkenburgh

    Right or Wrong Better or Worse it’s your life to what you make of it.God is a patient man he will wait and watch you.The lord knows you eventually come to him for Salvation

  3. John Blair

    God gives us free will to choose whatever we want to. I we choose to walk a dark path we can. If we choose to walk with him we can.But whatever the situation may be we have to decide on our own. He’s not gonna force anything on us. That is my answer to what do you think.

  4. kennethcooper

    life is about choices its up to you as to which path you will travel during
    the course of your life .

  5. dougdambach

    Yes, I believe I am living the life I have chosen for myself because of wrong choices by trusting in myself. But I also believe that at any moment I choose, right now or later, I can choose a better life for myself by placing all my trust in Jesus Christ exclusively. AMEN AND AMEN.

  6. Margaret Lavender

    Life is all about choices and are mistakes have helped shape who we are it is what we choose to do with the lessons that they have taught us. We can use them to glorify God and show the world what he has brought us from or we can choose to wallow in them and not forgive ourselves the way that God has. That is a vicious cycle that the enemy wants to keep us in.

  7. Heath Whitehead

    Life is what you make of it. God will change things in his time not mine.

  8. Josh Gowan

    Got to submit for it to work

  9. Robert Crawford

    God wants you to decide on how you live.

  10. Dale Moody

    Surrender completely to unconditional love

  11. Shemia caine

    Change is good for my body, mind, and spirit.. To accept that i was killing myself with my own emotions makes me want the change even more….

  12. Genevieve Moody

    Just give it all to God no matter what and love him unconditionally and good things will happen

  13. Jelona Richardson

    I think that I have changed a lot. I was an addict and an alcoholic. Now by the grace and mercy of God I have 1 year clean and sober

  14. Geral Gilbreath

    i think i am a work in progress. god is not finished with me yet, more work is yet to be done .i will continue to ask him for his guidance and grace daily.

  15. larry lawrence

    god works at his own pace its not up to me or anyone else to do god’s work

  16. Rebekah Dixon

    Knowledge is what you read, and wisdom is how you carry out your knowledge daily in your life. If a situation is uncomfortable and not under God’s standards walk away and distant your life from it, but if it is for God swim in it. Grow and progress stronger each and every day becoming God’s tool. God needs us to build a better foundation not tear one down. The more we work together as a team, the more successful life will become. Amen

  17. ANDREA CRUM

    LIFE IS WHAT I MAKE OF IT . I chose GOD and what GOD has in store for me. I am accepting it and receiving it. KEEPING a relationship with GOD; to worship and praise GOD. GLORY BE TO GOD, BLESS THE LORD O MY SOUL. A work in progress for me,I give JESUS my ALL.

  18. Tara O'Leary

    With the small choices I have made along the way I chose to live here at the village. Coming to the village was a different choice than I had previously made. I was ready for something different. Now I just have to continue making positive small decisions and pray that I’m making the decision that leads to what God has for me.

  19. kelly mills

    God gives you freewill. You choose what you want you’re life to be. I know for me, I was living in the present all of the time. Living day by day doing whatever I wanted to do and did not stop to think about my future. God has given us life, now it is our choice to figure out what we want to do with the gift of life. I am trying to get my life back on track with where I want it to go and am starting to plan toward my future. Living in the moment doesn’t do anything for me.

  20. Aaron Brock

    What we make of everyday compared to the last.

  21. David Armstrong

    Yes I have always lived the life I chose if it was in addiction or not.Now im trying to live the way god wants me to. To make the better choice.

  22. sherry martin

    Life is a choice and i have made some real bad decisions. But by the grace and mercy of the lord i’am getting on the right track, for once in my life. I desire to make positive choices and pray before i act and i no longer desire to run from god.

  23. Tim Riggs

    My life has also been like the bird in the child’s hand.My life is is what i want it to be.Keeping god in my life would be my best interest.THAT WAY I CAN BE LIKE THE BIRD AND FLY AWAY AND BE FREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE.

  24. bradley trimm

    Pretty much if it acts like ,walks like ,and quacks like a duck. Its a duck! A duck knows what it is and walks in that most of us are cows walking ,acting, and trying to quack like a duck. Its crazy but if you just start walking and talking like a child of God the belief and realization of you being what you are will come.

  25. We are all works in progress and everything we have went through and do has prepared us for the next step in our life good or bad. Its what we do with the information that have to choose the life we led today. All my trial and tribulations just prepared me for the life I was meant to live. My end results put me in the place I was supposed to be that led me here.

  26. karleebrock

    what we make of everyday compared to last.ask gods will be done not my own.

  27. Adrienne Starns

    I agree. God gave us free will. He wants us to desire relationship with Him. If he made us do it, like robots, it would mean nothing. Start changing decisions, even small ones in your life and you will see the result.

  28. Brandon Smith

    You have to learn to crawl before you can walk. Nobody can make you change you have to wanna change. Take it one day at a time. In the long run you will reap the benefits of living your life for the Lord and choosing to do the right thing. The grass is defiantly greener on the other side.

  29. Larry

    You are living the life you have chosen….
    I am living the life GOD has chose for me. Yes, I set my path for the direction I chose, which had no ending.But as time diminished along the way, my path led in a new direction that was a fulfillment to what GOD had in mind and a new beginning. I have learned to listen to GOD, rather than shun HIS path’s direction for me and my life is aglow with HIS power of success that HE has in store for me.

  30. JeReMy bArBeE

    i chosen to have faith in christ and let the spirit in my heart an rebut the devil away from out of my life ,and learn more bout God and let him show me my path in life

  31. Jason

    I chose to live the life i wanted,always having a tug in my heart knowing my life should be turned another direction. Now going his direction i still face physical problems that were caused from passed actions..Living in him in know i am alive and well and problems will become blessings of healing through HIM.

  32. jennifer Vinzant

    It’s all about free will that is why gave it to us so that we could make the choice to follow him. I chose to live life my way without God for a long time I thought I had it under control and could do it on my own, but the truth is that every thing in my life with out God failed. I am still working on giving everything to him sometimes it seems like the harder I try the worse things get . So is this a test of faith? Will I pass the test? I know without God in my life that I will continue to live in misery, so will I let him lead the way or will I continue to follow my flesh? To be continued……..

  33. Larue Reeves

    All the ways I have been living or rather had been living were my choices, bad choices. I really was on the wrong path and my way didn’t work. Having grown closer to God I have turned my life around (praise God). I no longer choose to live the life of destruction but to follow the Lord. His Spirit guides me down a different road to a better life. I want to live a new life now, full of God and the Holy Spirit because His ways are so much better than mine.

  34. eddie henderson

    i believe I’ve made some poor career choices but I’m trying to fix them

  35. Will Kimbrough

    God will not force himself into your life but when you accept him and live according to his will and not ours it will be hard to find words to describe the things that begin to happen in your life.

  36. GOD gives you a choice to follow him.We all need guidance but sometimes refuse to let him help us.We need to open up more to his word.

  37. I learn more about GOD by studying the Bible and just let him in and trust that the Lord will restored me back once i let him into my heart and soul.

  38. q

    u can learn a lot bout god from reading the bible

  39. q

    u can learn a lot from reading the bible

  40. Stacey Pannell

    I think that over time I have learned from my mistakes and use my past as lessons. I remember all things that I have been through and I use it in a positive way. Instead of a negative way.

  41. Kim McCain

    I think I am living a better life since I let Christ into my heart and I am changing more everyday that I let Him live through me.

  42. chrisdeonas

    i have let the lord in my life and know i am getting better at living right.

  43. tonyholt

    i think i have lived my life for years the way i wanted to but it has not worked out.now i am going to slow down and trust in the lord in helping me make the right decisions for each and every day/pray and have faith in his works.

  44. mauricebryant

    i know i have lived my life on the wrong track but i am working hard at getting closer with the lord to walk on the right path with him so i have learned to take it easy and slow myself down and put my faith and trust in the lord and he will deliver me from all evilness.

  45. brandon neighbors

    just give your life to god and let him handle the rest

  46. jody

    I’ve gave my life to god to handle and now I’m trying to learn everything he has to tell me and teach me I’m willing to open my life up for him and let him show me the true way

  47. Lee Watkins

    i feel that life is what i make of it that is why god has giving me freewill and that it lies within us all but i know where my life is and what i live for and its my father

  48. Kenyatta Hunter

    This is profound. And it is just where my thinking has evolved.

  49. Rodney Lundy

    I just leave it in god’s hands.

  50. Frank Fredella

    The bad fruit that I see in my life due to condemnation would be poor decision making skills, unhealthy relationships, and unworthiness.

  51. Frank Fredella

    An example of good fruit following forgiveness would be my ex-wife forgiving me for all of my faults in our relationship. As a result of this forgiveness I was able to reestablish relationship with my step kids.

  52. Sherron Stapleton

    God answers in His own time. Not mine, to work with him I must surrender completely.

  53. josh morton

    i think i lived my life for a long time the way i wanted to,but know its time to slow down and to live life the way god intended me to live.

  54. wanda lynn

    GOD lets us make our own choices of what kind of life we live when i did it on my own i made a mess of it once i let GOD in my heart i can’t imagine living my life without him

  55. Charmain Strickland

    Yes. The way I had been living wAS BY CHOICE. I chose to live my way and not God’s way. By growing closer to Him, I Have changed. Now I choose to follow Him, the Spirit guides me down a new road of better decision making and cleaner living.

  56. Sherrilyn Faulkner

    Yes! The way I had been living was by choice. I chose to live my way and not God’s way. Obviously, my way didn’t work!!! By seeking God and drawing closer to Him, I have changed.(for the better) I don’t want to live the destructive lifestyle I was living! Now I choose to follow Him. The Spirit leads me down a new road of better decision making and cleaner living. For once, I’m excited about my future. I want to live for God and allow the Holy Spirit be my guide and I know I will have nothing to fear!! Praise God!!! :)

  57. Matt Dillashaw

    What sticks out to me is that small changes add up to be big changes. Any degree of change is good as long as it is for the better. its all about progress not perfection.

  58. Patrick Stewart

    I think small changes over a long time can add up. I also think that drastic change in someones life can also be beneficial. Some people need that drastic change because of being so close to destruction.

  59. Roger Murray

    i know i am living better now and i am trusting in god as my savior to continue living better.

  60. Justin Mayes

    Anything I have done this far is going to be my calling. because my life will help others when I share it. To tell people to get there feet and seek God don’t wait on Him. If you fall just fight back harder stand your ground and don’t fall back.

  61. Mark Robertson

    I think your life is how you decide for it to be. A lot of how your life turns out is in your own hands

  62. Kevin Hodges

    The decisions that we make are very important in everyday life. I believe that small decisions do steer the direction of my life.

  63. Craig Hollingsworth

    No matter what kind of education you have or you get its not going to matter if your living a sinful unhealthy life.

  64. Ryan Goodwin

    I think that everything that you do today changes your life tomorrow.

  65. Bobby Brown

    i come to know that the only way I’m gonna get by is start trusting the lord.

  66. Darrel Booth

    I’m choosing to live a life like Gene Stallings.

  67. Frankie Bowling

    It is good to listen and learn from a older man because he is wiser and has live the life am trying to live.so pay close to what older people haven’t to say and your life will be Better. Amen

  68. Kayleshia Thomason

    The way you choose to live is a daily choice. What you feed good or bad is what you reap.

  69. Lorenzo G

    This statement is dead on. Life is all about free will, the choices we make determine where we end up

  70. GLENN BLAKELY

    GOD KNOWS MY SITUATIONS, HE KNOW WHAT I BE FACING….IF WE CHOOSE TO LIVE THAT LIFE,,HE CAN’T CHANGE IT,, HE CAN ONLY HELP US MAKE IT THROUGH….

  71. William Randolph

    Keep it simple[stupid] It will take care of it self.

  72. brandiriepele

    I used to think my life was tragic. However as ive gotten older i look at it is it made me who i am. Im thankful for all of it and know its taught me the tools and knowledge needed to go forth from here.

  73. no matter what god will help you fly away

  74. i need to accept gods love because I’ve tried everything else and nothing has worked

  75. katherinethomas

    The person i used to be is a complete stranger compared to the person that i am today thanks to God.

  76. Ashton

    Good habits effect your destiny and ultimately make your future brighter,. ( If you don’t like something about your life,…..Change it!!)

  77. Howard Johnson

    Yes because of the habits you have to break the to succeed

  78. J.D.

    tried it my way.going to try gods way now.

  79. David Foster

    I think this is exactly the way it should be.
    We change for the better or worse

  80. jessica pruett

    I think I’m living the life I have set myself up for and It is up to me to change my direction if I don’t like where I am headed try something different

  81. david BROWN

    I’m going to make great changes in my life.

  82. Billy Brooks

    i feel like I’ve made changes in my life today than what i use to be.

  83. anthony melvoid

    i am making an effort to change my ways and with gods help i know i will be successful

  84. jody shaw

    life is about choices its up to you as to which path you will travel during the course of your life.

  85. Paul

    yes its our choice. I’m learning.

  86. BRANDON WHISENANT

    I AM LIVING IN GODS WAY AMEN……

  87. donaldmoody

    we have the choice what life we live

  88. Octaves Holstick

    I’m living the that I once thought was alright but made some bad decisions over time, I’m not satisfied with myself because I know I can do better I feel like God wouldn’t have allowed me to make any mistakes

  89. cordarrinblackmon

    I think the life i thought i wanted to live when i was young turn out to be the life i dont want to live after all. It looked good when i was young but turn out to be trouble in the long run.

  90. Gregg Pike

    GOD’s grace and mercy is there for the asking. It is there to save us all.

  91. Cody Hicks

    If you sow strong you reap strong.

  92. Doug Richardson

    God gives us the tools, which path we go, the wrong path the good path, good thing about life is that we can always go back to the good side

  93. David Brown

    I think I should find out what my calling is and then make the changes to better myself.

  94. Micah Brown

    I don’t agree. I think you can supplement your success with education but put God first.

  95. Steve Moses

    I’m living the life that I have chosen, but I’m turning my life over to God and He will show me the right path.

  96. John McCormick

    I am on the way to living that life.

  97. Christopher Wright

    If you choose not to change then you will remain in the same place you started.

  98. Daniel Burdette

    We have to live our life one day at a time and every small change that we make it adds up. We are creatures of habit. If we change what we do everyday then we will start to do the right thing.

  99. harvey owens

    my life is much different now since having an encounter with god

  100. roger fisher

    i am trying to live my life like christ ,

  101. dana

    we are all a work in progress and everything we go thru gets us ready for the next step in life .it is up to us to pay attention and learn from our mistakes

  102. Laura Holmes

    Good judgment comes from experience, unfortunately that experience usually comes from bad judgment.

  103. richarddees

    i’m on my way to living the life i want to be

  104. richarddees

    I’m on my path to living the life i want

  105. donald

    I’m going to follow what ever path that god puts me own

  106. john moore

    i am on my way to living the life i want it to be

  107. Cenita Brown

    I ayself am going to also walk the path that god has put before me to walk an also keep him first.

  108. Brian Fincher

    I believe this is true because God has given us the free will to choose our own path.

  109. luther johnson

    god walks with me through the dark and leads me to the light

  110. charles shorts

    i absolutley agree andrew we are living the life we chased

  111. oscar hopson

    yeah we are living the life we chose whether it be good or bad

  112. joey reed

    the life we lead is what we chose.

  113. Renaldo Bonner

    you control your destiny

  114. luther

    we choose our destines

  115. Brad Wynn

    if you sow strong you reap strong

  116. richard tompkins

    this is true I have been living the life I chose all my adult life.

  117. terry self

    changing the small things lead to great accomplishments, heaven.

  118. Carrie Pate

    I choose to live my life for the Lord. I will put him first in all that i do.

  119. Sharon Barber

    i am changing my life each day to live for the lord

  120. Timothy Austin

    At the end of the day you can change the person you use to be and become a better person.

  121. David Mayhall

    I feel I must not have made enough small changes yet.

  122. Royce Goodwin

    God said that He is big enough to handal small problems and big problems. I can do this by absorbing his word.

  123. Percy Tate

    I once upon a time was living the life that I had chosen but once i started to live the life that God had predestined for me everything changed and suddenly life brought about new meaning because I began to live a testimonial life to God which means glorifying Him with the life that I had chosen and He delivered me from by helping others who are going through the same thing.

  124. Steve Martin

    God is the author and creator of all things. Change comes from God and Him only. Everything goes back to God.

  125. Jonathan Hart

    Well I think it is somewhat true about the book and degree, but if you choose the life that God intended you to have you made the right choice. Some times it is hard and that is the Jesus(the word) to show us the way.

  126. Kenneth Alexander

    I am now living my life the way that I should.

  127. Jody Eubanks

    I think God has a plan for me I am not sure what it is right now but I am going to keep working at living in Gods will and not self will.

  128. Oscar Hopson

    Through God all things are possible.

  129. William Rodman

    Start out crawling then walking, soon you will be running in a new life.

  130. Terry Embry

    I am still here living so more than less I am surviving. I have survived all of my own bad ideas and I am beginning to come out better than I ever have in my life. I am in the best shape of my life. i am proof to me and other guys and girls that can’t see me now but know that if i am not in jail I am doing great.

  131. walter.archie

    jesus is my life

  132. edward osburn

    i have not but i feel i can be trusted with a lot

  133. John Wright

    No matter how much you exercise your brain if your heart doesn’t follow it then they are doing battle.

  134. darrell booth

    i m choseing to my life like jseus

  135. Trent Redwine

    God rains on the just and the unjust. He has given all everything we need to live a life for Him. On the other hand we can also choose to use those things for our own pleasure or gain which goes against His will. So the statement we are living the life we choose is accurate.

  136. Kyle

    He give’s us the choice to choose right,and wrong,if we sin we must admit to be forgave!

  137. Roberto pagan

    God is good and he never let’s me down and that I thank him for he has truly bless me in so many way even when I don’t see it

  138. Dana Layfield

    I believe that since the Lord gives us the freedom of choice, he also takes the decisions we have made to use them to bring us back to him. He will never leave nor forsake us. He has always been by our side just allowing us to make us of our own free will. When we turn back to him he then uses everything in our lives for our good even though we may not understand it at the present time.

  139. chester

    take your time to change,you will be a better person!

  140. Marla Martin

    Yes small changes over a period of time lead to big changes.

  141. Jason Raines

    Small changes are the best way to go because if you try to it all at once you get overwhelmed.

  142. Stephanie Ellis

    I think this is true. You control your own destiny. You may not change all at once, but if you change a little each day you will eventually be new.

Leave a Reply

